The Military College of South Carolina

Krause Center Award for Distinguished Service, Leadership, and Ethics

The Krause Center Award

Each year, the Krause Center Award for Distinguished Service, Leadership, and Ethics showcases a Citadel graduate as a living example of a Principled Leader. The award has been presented annually since 2011 (except for 2021) to Citadel graduates whose lives and actions exemplify the highest ideals of distinguished service, leadership, and ethics through personal integrity and service to others.

To be considered for selection, nominees must:

  • Exhibit The Citadel’s Core Values of Honor, Duty, and Respect in both professional and private life
  • Embody the values and ethical character of a Principled Leader
  • Exemplify service before self in actions and deeds for The Citadel
  • Serve as a role model in both professional and personal endeavors

2022 Recipient: Anderson D. Warlick

Parkdale Mills Chairman and CEO

  • World leader in cotton and cotton-blended yarn manufacturing
  • Largest producer of cotton consumer products in the world
  • Over $2B in annual revenue
  • 28 Factories in North and South America
  • 5,000 Employees in 8 states and 7 countries

Lifelong Philanthropic Leader

  • Co-Chairman of the Foundation for Leadership Campaign
  • Raised $250,000,000 for The Citadel Foundation as of May 2018
  • Goal was $175,000,000 for the 175th Anniversary of The Citadel

Community Servant Leader in Gastonia, North Carolina

  • In 2013, raised $22,000,000 with friends to build a new YMCA
  • In 2020, built a coalition of competitors to respond to the pandemic
  • Manufactured and distributed 600 million masks in 90 days
  • Manufactured and distributed 5 million testing swabs for COVID
Anderson D. Warlick

Past Recipients

2020 — Dr. John M. Palms, Sr., Ph.D., ‘58

2019 — Col Myron C. Harrington, USMC, Ret., ‘60

2018 — LTG W. Michael Steele, USA, Ret., ‘67

2017 — Dr. Stephen M. Sittnick, USA, Ret., ‘77

2016 — The Honorable Ernest F. Hollings, ‘42

2015 — The Honorable Joseph P. Riley, Jr., ‘64

2014 — Mr. William B. Sansom, ‘64

2013 — GEN William W. Hartzog, USA, Ret., ‘63

2012 — Mr. W. Henry Johnson, Jr., ’75

2011 — Mr. Frank P. Mood, ‘60